the Homeless 

I spoke with several folks while walking across America in 2013, that I assumed were homeless. 

It strikes me now how comfortable I felt with them, and how kind they were. I always felt a sadness come over me when I left. I can remember feeling like I was abandoning a human being as I walked away. 

 I remember some faces and some stories. Some said they were Veterans. 

One amazing fact is they were all appreciative of the purpose of my journey. On two occasions they actually offered money to me. 

The National Alliance to End Homelessness estimates that at any given time, over 500,000 human beings do not have anything that comes close to resembling a home. 

Some folks believe a lot of homeless folks suffer with dementia. That’s a whole new thought for most folks. 

Leave a Reply

