the day we lost my dad

On June 30th, 2000 we were told dad could pass away at any moment . The alzheimer’s disease had ran its course. The lady from Hospice was there and had ask my brother and I if it was okay if she told dad he could go. We agreed and she leaned down close and whispered in his ear. We don’t know what she said. I never wondered. We could tell his body was slowly dying. Our dad was going home. 

Dad was a mostly happy man that enjoyed laughing . He loved his children, his grandchildren and he loved to fish.

He was a Veteran of the second World War. He had served in the United States Navy . 

The Hospice lady spoke to us several times. I was glad she was there. She seemed to be preparing us.

Dad took his last breath. He suffered no longer. 

I remember walking outside and feeling the sunshine on my face. My dad was laid to rest near Jesup Georgia . 

Leave a Reply

