more on immigration 

Give me your tired, your poor, your huddled masses yearning to breathe free, the wretched refuse of your teeming shore. Send these, the homeless, tempest-tost to me, I lift my lamp beside the golden door!”

I saw this last part of the poem, New Colossus, on Facebook and Twitter a few times today. I like it. I think it is an awesome credo. What I wonder about is our system. Not just the system new arrivals will be introduced to, but the system we have for the poor and homeless that grew up here. The folks we are inviting here, it seems to me, deserve a working system. If we give them a working system, it seems, the poor and homeless already here should be afforded the same, good, working system. 

I think the more you invite folks to your house, the more effort that should be put into the system awaiting them.

Do we have a working system? Does it give our homeless and poor a fighting chance? Will it give the homeless and poor from other places a fighting chance. 

If our system is broken, I hope we fix it soon and continue telling folks that we will let you come. If it’s broke, why haven’t we fixed it. Maybe it will take an uproar to fix it, if it’s broke. 

I like those lines from that poem. 

Leave a Reply

