more about Eric Liddell – he was portrayed in “Chariots of Fire”


One of Eric’s fans says:“I remember an incident concerning him. When I lived in Edinburgh I went to Craiglockhart to see him running in the 100 yards sprint at the University Sports, which, incidentally, he won, beating his own record at the time. Prior to his event a coloured student was wandering about, awaiting his event. Not a single person was speaking to him. He seemed so much alone, my heart went out to him, so much so that I felt like going to talk to him myself. To my great joy, Eric went up to him, put his arm in his, and engaged him in a friendly conversation until his event was due. I thought it such a beautiful Christian action, and it has lived in my memory ever since. How like the man, wasn’t it?”

Leave a Reply

