Leadville, me & alzheimer’s 

The Leadville Trail 100 has fascinated me for years. Leadville, Colorado sits at 10,000 above sea level. The race starts in Leadville and meanders for 100 miles, up and down big mountains and ending back in town. Some of the best trail runners in the world attend.

I started boasting (good word) a couple of years back about participating. I realized it seemed to make me feel good when I associated my name with “Leadville.” 

To qualify for it you have to prove yourself in a shorter competition. Could I have done it? I’m not sure. Realistically,  I do not think so. I could have put my whole life into it and tried. I have many friends that believed I could give it a pretty good try, and they were willing to help. 

If I knew then, what I know today, I would not have mentioned it. 

I’m not sure what I was thinking back then, but I know how I feel about it now. My name does not deserve to be associated with a competition such as the Leadville Trail 100. Those young men work for years on their crafts. I admire their abilities. 

I have found a different calling for my life. I know my purpose and I am doing what I am supposed to be doing. Proud of it, you bet I am. I am a caregiver and an advocate concerning alzheimer’s disease.

Leave a Reply

