I have seen it done both ways with an alzheimer’s patient #ENDALZ 

The patient says “my spouse will be here in a few minutes” (the spouse passed years ago)

Two examples of how I have seen it handled. 

  • A caregiver does some therapeutic lying.
  • A caregiver says “Tell me about your spouse”

The first response led to a short conversation that seemed to end well. The second response led to a short conversation that seemed to end well. 

What do you think about the 2 different ways? Could the therapeutic lying confuse the patient?  Does one show more respect than the other? Does that matter? 

I have my own views. 

5 responses to “I have seen it done both ways with an alzheimer’s patient #ENDALZ 

  1. Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.

    I would ask my mother to tell me more about whatever she was questioning to a point but if I felt that taking the subject too far might cause distress I would lie. I think it does depend on the circumstances.

    Like

  2. Peter's pondering

    Talk about anything is good! Even if it eventually leads to upset, it can generate good feelings along the way. I’ve listened to the same tales time and time again but they normally elicit fond memories. If sadness comes as a result then just steer on to another subject, or distract by offering a drink, or a walk.

    Like

Leave a Reply

