Some thoughts about Theodore Roosevelt’s quote . . . . . 

Do what you can, with what you have, where you are

I had real thoughts about helping with the hunger problem when I was much younger. I’ve read estimates of from 20 to 25,000 folks dying each day, from starvation. 

Let’s examine how that would go when I was say,  30 years old. Could I do it? Here are the circumstances from then. I had a wife, 2 small children, a job, house payment, car payment, electric bill, water bill and not much in my bank account. That list is what I call responsibilities. Could I pack up one morning and take off? No, the practical side of life says no. Those are responsibilities that I helped create. So, what could I have done to help? 

I could have figured out how much I could comfortably give to “someone else to help the hungry.” I could do a search and find the best charity and give the money to them on a monthly basis. I could stay up to date with how they are proceeding and make changes as necessary, either to the amount, or to the charity. I could schedule timely reviews to ponder and change, or leave as is. 

 I could put a bumper sticker on my car about the charity and maybe even purchase a shirt that advertises for them and wear it. I would be raising awareness. If I wanted, I could even carry cards that speak of the charity advertised on my shirt, and hand them out, if anyone inquired.

This way, I am being responsible, and helping too. That would have given me peace. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

