Hiking at night in the North Georgia mountains 

I parked the car near the lodge, at Amicalola Falls usually around 7:00 pm and would walk north. It was rare to come upon another hiker. 

I had a few black bear encounters. That would get my adrenaline flowing. I was in their house, on their time.

 Interesting was the response of campers that would stroll out to the trail to check me out. Most remarked they would not make the attempt. My headlamp announced me.

Snow fell all night on one trip. The wind blew hard. It was quiet. It was cold, near zero, in the Cohutta Wilderness. The trees were cracking because of the freezing of the water in the wood. (not Amicalola)

Good times, those were. Always felt relatively safe. 

Leave a Reply

