keep her safe, keep my wants at bay and Keep Going 

A Readers Digest version of my situation, as viewed by me. 

  • I work to keep mom safe.
  • I work to keep my wants at bay.
  • I work to maintain good health.

Keeping mom safe is not taxing, just somewhat time consuming. That will slowly change. It will get hard.

Keeping my wants at bay is my big battle. Since January 24th, 2016, I have spent almost 91% of my time on her. The 9% was taken care of by family. I don’t see that changing much. 

It has affected my emotional and physical health. I working to keep that in check. I work in short miles, aerobic and resistance training. Some abb work also. It’s nothing compared to what I did before caregiving. 

I have a choice, to be her caregiver, or not be. I choose “be her caregiver”

I’m thinking their are millions in the same boat, or close, that I’m in. 

2 responses to “keep her safe, keep my wants at bay and Keep Going 

  1. Yep, it’s a 24/7 job that requires your full attention. I live in Greenville, Mississippi, if you happen to find yourself close, give me a holler.
    I was fortunate my Mom loved shows that ran marathons, and her brother would stay with her until I got off work. I made sure I was working under the Family Medical Leave to be able to take her to the Dr., Therapy or what not.
    If I can help you in anyway, let me know.
    Your friend,
    Julie Costa aka Costa Critter on Twitter.

    Like

Leave a Reply

