how I raise awareness concerning alzheimer’s 

This has been a process of trying something, evaluating my feelings, and going back for more. My level of acceptance is high, so I am often disappointed in my presentation. After almost 5 years of working at it, I know my approach is important to me, as an individual. That must be addressed. 

I work at letting others approach me. I give them ample reason to. My car, stroller and myself can be easily spotted. Once they approach, I answer any questions or point them in the direction of a possible answer. Sometimes I then ask for permission to hand them a card or a bracelet. Either of those have the Alzheimer’s Association 24/7 Helpline phone number on them.

If enough awareness is raised maybe

  • more of the electorate will see the need to ask Congress for more research funding, and Congress will respond and a cure will be found. 
  • caregivers will know where to go for more knowledge 
  • family members will understand the need to help the primary caregiver 
  • friends of the primary caregiver will understand the need to offer help

Most folks would be amazed at the difference between the awareness level of a primary caregiver and a sibling of the primary caregiver. 

2 responses to “how I raise awareness concerning alzheimer’s 

  1. I think you’re doing a Great job! I love your conviction and passion for what you do!
    Your friend,
    Julie Costa
    Costa Critter

    Like

Leave a Reply

