Is my prayer working?

I saw an article a few minutes ago about world hunger. The estimates are between 15,000 and 25,000 each day, die, due to hunger related issues. The estimates go on to say, most are children. Loose statistics I know, but even if the lowest numbers are used, it’s almost unbelievable. I sit and think of the suffering that must accompany that. The suffering of the ones near death and the suffering of the ones that death may visit at a later time. 

I think of it, maybe speak of it somewhere, and then pray. I pray about it daily, but then watch the numbers continue to rise. That makes me wonder if my prayer, concerning this, is helping. If I stop there, what have I done, if my prayer does no good. 

I don’t stop there. I pick up my phone and donate to Unicef. I then put faith in Unicef. 

God gave me a brain to use. He has given me tools all of my life. Somehow this Russian proverb seems to make sense in some way. 

“Pray to God, but keep rowing to shore”

I also think of Eric Liddell often. Here is a link  . . . . .  http://www.ericliddell.org/about-us/eric-liddell/biography/

Leave a Reply

