I’m still here . . . . . 

I’ve halted “Across the Land” three times. I hardly missed a lick, and was at it again. I’ve struggled. I’m still here! It’s okay to struggle. It must be, because I do it. It must be okay to quit, because I’ve done that. It must be okay to fail, because I’ve done that. I’m still here.  Persistence is a trait I surely have. If I sense importance, I Keep Going. I don’t rely on anyone for that decision. I trust me most. I care much about the people being affected by alzheimer’s disease. I am helping in a worthwhile cause.

I’ve had something really cool happen to me. I finally really believe in myself. 

Did someone hand me the post it note and that changed my world?  Nope.

I realized, well, I will let this quote say it for me. 

“Nothing in this world can take the place of persistence. Talent will not: nothing is more common than unsuccessful men with talent. Genius will not; unrewarded genius is almost a proverb. Education will not: the world is full of educated derelicts. Persistence and determination alone are omnipotent.”     Calvin Coolidge 

One response to “I’m still here . . . . . 

  1. You are going to be just fine, Jack. I can tell that you’re a man full of love and compassion. I have the same gifts. They are a couple of the most difficult gifts to be given, particularly in this day and time. It’s hard work: to feel other people’s pain! But we can’t throw away the gifts, no matter how hard we try. So we just accept them and keep loving. We really must pace ourselves, though. Slow down, Jack. You are not alone. You’re gonna’ be just fine … 😊
    With love from your southern neighbor. 🤗

    Like

Leave a Reply

