Time to lay the trumpet down 

I prayed this evening for personal peace to return that has been gone for over 5 years. My percieved need to record and share has been mentally tiring for me. Not much talent here at speaking or writing, so I’m thinking that has brought some of the discomfort. In the past, my prayers for peace brought what I took as silence, so I continued on. Tonight, was different, immediately after praying, a blog post notification popped up. Here are the words . . . . . 

Be careful not to practice your righteousness in front of others to be seen by them. If you do, you will have no reward from your Father in heaven. So when you give to the needy, do not announce it with trumpets, as the hypocrites do in the synagogues and on the streets, to be honored by others. Truly I tell you, they have received their reward in full. But when you give to the needy, do not let your left hand know what your right hand is doing,  so that your giving may be in secret. Then your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you. 

In an awareness campaign, my perception of what needed to be done, was done. Discomfort came often. I plowed on. Maybe that was best, maybe not. 

The paragraph above, in italics, may not lay straight to my situation, but I will take the words and use this as a time to ponder and then hopefully move on. 

It’s time finally to lay my noisy trumpet down and whisper from this point on. (metaphorically speaking)

The task at hand is to get back in my comfort zone for a bit, seek advice from friends and in prayer, from God. 

The need to continue to share what others have shared with me feels stronger than ever. 

The “Across the Land” project has been successful, but I have to now wonder if I have hurt others, as well as myself, by not slowing down here and there. 


2 responses to “Time to lay the trumpet down 

  1. Hi Jack — thanks for following my blog. I hadn’t heard about “Across the Land” but I’ve just perused your site. What a great trip for a great cause. Bless you as you lay down the trumpet and care more for your mom (and yourself). I’m confident you will find God speaking to you in new ways.

    Like

Leave a Reply

