it’s time for me to go – I won’t be dropping by very often

The quote in the picture below makes more sense to me now than anytime I have read it. 

Mom will soon be 89 years old. (October 28th) 

We live in Crawford County Georgia, in her home. My nephew and his family live 1/4 of a mile away. My sister in law lives approximately 30 miles from us. 

The job chosen by me is to be the person that makes sure mom is safe. Help has been offered by those spoke of in the preceding paragraph. I will sure need it, and have already called upon them many times. We are a good team. 

Raising awareness concerning alzheimer’s disease will always be a part of my life. With that said, my energy needs to shift, in a major way towards the here and now. 

My focus going forward will be keeping mom safe and keeping myself emotionally and physically fit. 

Social media use will change accordingly. It has been a great vehicle to raise awareness and introduce me to some of the most awesome and inspiring people in the world. 

Thank you to everyone that ever read a post. I appreciate your time. To you who commented, thank you. You all taught me. 

This is not a goodbye, it is a “I won’t be dropping by very often”

This picture was taken in Monterey, California in 2013. Mom drove out and picked up her son.

11 responses to “it’s time for me to go – I won’t be dropping by very often

  1. Wishing you and your family the very best …may you long continue to support each other!

    Like

  2. Take care of mama and yourself.  I don’t think you will forsake us all completely!

    Sent from Yahoo Mail for iPad

    Like

  3. Much Love to Mom & You!

    Like

  4. I’m sorry to hear that Jack. Your constant inspiration was fuel for me before, during and after my walks. I will miss your posts though I’m sure you won’t disappear. Please take care and enjoy the rest of your life as a HERO! You have certainly earned that title!

    Like

  5. All the best, Jack. I hope to see your bright yellow t-shirt and smile now and then. You’re an inspiration to all. xo

    Like

  6. Life is all about constant change!
    I wish you well. All the very best to you and your family.

    Like

Leave a Reply

