An “Announcement” – from an alzheimer’s advocate 

On September 30, 2017, I made an announcement. It was concerning my life. Here are some priorities I mentioned;

  • Caregiving 
  • Father
  • Grandfather 
  • Friend
  • Alzheimer’s advocate 
  • My health 

I announced that my work as an alzheimer’s advocate would slow. It was a path, I started down it. It’s not the right one. I’m back at the starting place. Somehow I will handle it all. I will get better.

5 years and 4 months I’ve been raising awareness concerning Alzheimer’s disease. I have announced that I was stopping or slowing at least 5 times, but I have not.

Mom is priority number one. Her safety and dignity are paramount. The other aspects of my life also are important. Somehow it will all get done. 

Every time I am indecisive, I learn something, I sharpen my focus. 

I remain committed. I am an Alzheimer’s advocate. No one pays me to do this. I do this because I care. My dad died with Alzheimer’s disease in June of 2000 and millions of other folks have also died. I also do this because millions of caregivers are suffering and I want to help them.

Someone once said this;   “Never Give Up on What’s Important to You

Yep, I’ve said I was giving up, but never have. I am an Alzheimer’s Advocate

P S. I like the way this quote makes me feel;     “When I stand before God at the end of my life, I would hope that I would not have a single bit of talent left, and could say, I used everything you gave me”     Erma Bombeck 

Leave a Reply

